Skip to main content


Peterson Wins CFM Dr. Earl Kemp Scholarship

Jun 28, 2019 10:48AM ● By Med Editor

Today, faculty members from the Center for Family  Medicine presented Dr. Scott Peterson the 2019 Dr. Earl Kemp Scholarship Award. 

The Dr. Earl Kemp Scholarship Award was developed by the Faculty of Sioux Falls Family Medicine Residency (SFFMR) upon the retirement of Dr. Earl Kemp, after serving as Program Director for 31 years. Dr. Kemp had many interests, including Habitat for Humanity, academic excellence, concern for rural family doctors and their successful professional practices, full-spectrum family medicine, and working in severely under-served populations abroad. Specific criteria for the award include graduating (or past graduate) of the SFFMR, excellence demonstrated in one or more of the following areas: Community service (Habitat for Humanity, etc.), academic achievement, commitment to rural practice, commitment to full-spectrum family medicine, and commitment to care of under-served populations locally, nationally or internationally. 

Dr. Peterson, from Salem, SD, is a 2010 graduate of the SFFMR, based at Center for Family Medicine in Sioux Falls, and has been in practice at Avera Medical Group Flandreau since that time. Many staff from the Avera Flandreau Hospital and Clinic, as well as Dr. Peterson’s family members were in attendance. 

Photo: L to R: Dr. Mark Huntington, Director; Dr. Earl Kemp, Dr. Scott Peterson, Dr. Wes Nord, Dr. David Brechtelsbauer, Dr. Fred Thanel and Dr. Jean Heisler.