Skip to main content


Avera Care Facilities Earn NRC Health 2018 Excellence in Action Awards

Aug 25, 2018 03:36PM ● By MED Magazine

NRC Health named several Avera skilled-nursing and long-term care facilities as honorees for its 2018 Excellence in Action awards.

The honors recognize skilled nursing, assisted living and independent living communities that achieve outstanding resident and/or employee satisfaction. The organizations named include ones that achieve the highest overall resident or employee satisfaction scores in the NRC Health database, which is the largest source of long-term care and senior-living satisfaction metrics in the nation.

The Avera facilities were honored in the customer award category. They include:

Skilled Nursing

  • Avera Bormann Manor, Parkston, S.D.

  • Avera Brady Health & Rehabilitation, Mitchell, S.D.

  • Avera Eureka Health Care Center, Eureka, S.D.

  • Avera Oahe Manor, Gettysburg, S.D.

  • Avera Sister James Care Center, Yankton, S.D.

  • Avera Mother Joseph Manor Retirement Community, Aberdeen,

Assisted Living

  • Avera Brady Health & Rehabilitation, Mitchell, S.D.

  • Nano Nagle Village, Aberdeen, S.D.

“Earning these honors demonstrates the determined focus of our care teams,” said Doug Ekeren, CEO and Regional President of Avera Sacred Heart Hospital in Yankton and leader of Avera’s Long-Term Care Strategic Business Unit. “NRC Health is a recognized leader in evaluation of long-term care satisfaction. These responses from our customers show we’re on the right track. The scores and feedback we received will help us continue to improve at each Avera facility.”

To qualify for the award, facilities had to complete customer satisfaction surveys during 2017, use standard facility instruments and receive a minimum of 10 responses, with a minimum 30 percent response rate. Those who scored in the top 10 percent of qualifying facilities on the question of personal recommendation earned the 2018 honor.

Standard data for 2017 were combined into one sample, regardless of method or date of administration. Learn more about the nationwide award winners at