Skip to main content


Collaborative Research Center for American Indian Health Projects Total 15

Aug 26, 2016 10:40AM ● By MED Magazine

The National Institutes of Health has selected two new projects for funding as part of the Collaborative Research Center for American Indian Health and its pilot grants program.


Now in its fourth year, the CRCAIH’s pilot grant program was created to fund cutting-edge transdisciplinary research addressing health disparities experienced by American Indians in South Dakota, North Dakota and Minnesota.


Sanford Research and a broad base of partners in 2012 received a $13.5 million grant from the National Institute on Minority Health and Disparities to create CRCAIH. The research center has now supported a total of 15 pilot grant awards across the region to explore how social determinants of health impact American Indians.


The pilot projects were selected based on five major scoring criteria, including purpose, priorities and significance; scientific approach; innovation and potential for future funding; investigators and environment; and collaborative relationships.


This past April in Fort Totten, North Dakota, findings from the second round of pilot grants awarded in 2014 were presented at the CRCAIH Annual Summit. A pilot grant study authored by Jessica Hanson, PhD, was published in Qualitative Health Research.


The following projects were selected for funding:


Jacqueline Gray, PhD, University of North Dakota

Wac’in Yeya: The Hope Project


Lacey Arneson McCormack, PhD, MPH, RD, LN, ACSM Ep-C, South Dakota State University

Rae O’Leary, RN, RRT, AE-C, Missouri Breaks Industries Research, Inc.

We RISE (Raising Income, Supporting Education) Project on the Cheyenne River Sioux Reservation

CRCAIH is made up of the following organizations: Sanford Research; Oglala Sioux Tribe; Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Indians/Tribal Nations Research Group; Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa; Sisseton-Wahpeton Oyate of the Lake Traverse Reservation; Cankdeska Cikana Community College/Spirit Lake Nation; Children’s Hospitals and Clinics of Minnesota; Missouri Breaks Industries Research, Inc.; North Dakota State University; Oglala Lakota College; Rapid City Regional; Rosebud Sioux Tribe; Sanford Health; South Dakota State University; Turtle Mountain Community College; the University of North Dakota; and the University of South Dakota.